Writing 201: Water

Today I begin the Writing 201:Poetry class, here on WordPress.

I am looking forward to learning more about poetry and how to compose it.

Rarely have I written poems on demand with a prompt. I’ve always had them kind of bubble out of me, when I felt an overflow of emotions.

I’m grateful for the challenge.

Today’s prompt is Water, and the form Haiku (5-7-5 syllables) with the option of “it’s meatier cousin,” Tanka, (5-7-5-7-7 syllables) which is the one I chose.

We were also invited to include a simile; of which I attempted; but not sure I quite accomplished.

Here goes;

WATER

The power to cleanse

Internal and External

Our bodies and souls

Surely we would die without

Hope we never have a drought

13 thoughts on “Writing 201: Water

Leave a Reply

