I Cry….Alot (poem)

I cry for the Earth
and for mankind
I cry becuase
I am human.
I cry if someone hurts me,
then,
I stop crying.
Big girls don’t cry
my daddy told me.
He couldn’t have known
how many tears I
would have to hold,
to be strong&bold.
I cry at movies
and surfaced memories.
The past makes me cry,
so does the future.
I cry because I can.
I cry in pain
and with joy.
Music, Art and Love
make me cry.
Grief makes me cry
the most.
I cry for road kill
and oil spills.
I cry for a cruel world
and for it’s kindness.
Acceptance speeches
at Award shows
make me cry.
I cry in beauty
and in mystery.
I cry for Jesus
I cry with the devil.
There is a well
in the pit of
my stomach,
that holds all the
tears never wept.
I wear waterproof mascara
and cry in silence.
I choke up in emotion
hoping nobody notices.
I try to cry alone,
in my solitude.
Most of all
I cry
to heal.

29 thoughts on “I Cry….Alot (poem)

  1. In checking out your profile I see you were put on disability after your initial diagnosis & breakdown. I have been on since 2012 & wonder when I will be ready to go back to work, although I am thinking of shifting gears & going back to school first. Are you still disabled 10 years later? Hugs.

    • Unfortunately, I am still unable to work full time. I work a seasonal part time job. Recovery is different for everyone. For me, my breakdown was just the beginning of a long journey. I wish you luck. Hugs ❀

  2. Pingback: Post Surgery Reflections | Labeled Disabled

Leave a Reply

