Wake Me Up When September Ends…

September is the anniversary of my mental breakdown.

My mom died in June 2005, and for three months, I was in shock. I worked, went to school, raised my daughter, the busier the better, until BAAAAM!!! Breakdown.

The song, Wake Me Up When September Ends (by Greenday) was released that year. It is about the singer’s (Billy Joe Armstrong) father dying due to cancer. The day of his dad’s funeral, he locked himself into the bathroom. When his mother knocked on the door, he simply stated, “Wake me up when September ends.”

I felt the same…just wake me when it ends. After my breakdown, I spent many days in a lawn chair outside, wrapped up in blankets, staring out to nature. I remember this song resonating with me as the tears finally flowed.

Today I begin my EMDR. I can’t think of a better way to honor this anniversary then to take the next step in my healing process.

10 thoughts on “Wake Me Up When September Ends…

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your troubles, love. I wish you all the best with your therapy today. It’s a courageous step you are taking.
    I love this song and it resonates with me also. Both of my parents’ anniversary are in October and its usually a bleak month for me and I often re phrase the song to Wake me up when October ends.
    Sending you love and light.
    x

  2. ❤ ❤ ❤
    I know what this song means to you baby. I see it every time it plays on the radio when we are together. Starting EMDR this month is going to add new meaning to this I'm sure. Looking forward to seeing you make positive meanings to accompany the others.

  3. I fucking hate that song. My parents were killed in an accident in September 28 years ago on September 25. My best friend’s mom died last year on the 16th of September so now she hates September too. The song just makes me sad.

  4. Oh yeah, I start my second round of EMDR sessions tomorrow. I dread it bc I know it’s hard, but it’s worth it when it’s all over with. Good luck to you!

    • This week will be my second round too. It is really hard, and my body releasing the memories has me sick, and all kinds of anxiety!! BUT you’re right, it will be worth it, just knowing I’m letting go of this trauma is worth it! Best of luck to you too!!!

  5. I do wish you all the best as you take steps to getting better.
    Lots of hugs i send your way.

    I don’t think the problem is with the month though it just so happens some unfortunate things happen there in.
    My dad passed away on the 21st of September exactly 10years ago.

Leave a Reply

