Post-op Update

tired

It’s been a little over four weeks since my complete hysterectomy. I am finally seeing the finish line, even if I have to crawl at a snail pace to get there, I am hopeful.

I have been returning to my daily activities slowly.

My third week was my first without anyone staying with me to help. I found that just cooking a meal and scooping the cat box had me wiped out. Then I’d cry because I couldn’t do more. Not sure sometimes if it’s depression or menopause. I have had several hot flashes and I’m crying a lot. Then laughing and crying in the same spell, kind of manic.

menopausal dwarfs

The rest of my third week, I assigned myself only two chores per day so to not overwhelm myself. I returned to driving too which was surprisingly exhausting. At the end of the week, I suddenly felt like I was punched in the stomach and I had severe pain for a few days. I took pills and took it easy.

My fourth week was a lot better. I could do just a little more each day. I returned to therapy. I made it to my appointment at the pain institute for my neck. They ordered a MRI. and asked me to get cleared for physical therapy from my surgeon. They also said I’d need a steroid shot. I haven’t really processed any of it; because I am just focusing on healing from this right now.

I celebrated my fourth week surgiversary by taking a nice bath and gently wiggling into a pair of jeans. Getting into them was a challenge due to swelly belly. Yup, it’s a thing. The term “swelly belly” (Latin term: Swellibellicus) is a HysterSisters word that refers to post-op swelling of the abdomen. It is caused by trauma to the abdominal tissues, gasses used during surgery, and/or fluids collecting in the tissues due to trauma during surgery. The jeans only lasted an hour as I was very uncomfortable; but, it felt good to be out of the sweatpants.

swelly belly.jpg

HysterSisters is a great website. If you can’t guess by the title. It is a community of women who have been through or are going to have a hysterectomy. It’s been very supportive just to know I am not alone. It also has a ton of information.

These past few weeks my pain severity has lessened.  I am still very sore and being careful as to not pull anything as there is still much healing going on inside. The past two days were my first pain pill free days. It feels good to get to this point.

wohoo.png

I came across my discharge paperwork while puttering the other day. I finally read it. I read about my procedure and cringed, as it explained that my uterus was dissected into pieces and pulled through my several incisions. I cried again.

surgery info.jpg

What a trauma my body has been through. I feel really emotional about it. Not just the surgery; but, the years of pain before it. The realization that my body was sick and needed love and healing. I have been doing some soul searching and sacred womb work, which I will share in another post.

Tomorrow is another post op appointment. I will probably be cleared for lifting more than a gallon of milk and vacuuming, and hopefully physical therapy and some yoga.

I am very sore, tired and menopausal; but, my life is slowly and surely returning to me. ❤

healing image

 

HysterSisters: http://www.hystersisters.com/

9 thoughts on “Post-op Update

  1. In reading your story, I emphasize with you. I went through similar a few years ago. I can say, that it gets easier, as time passes. ..Oh the website hyster sisters is great! I was reading that all the time before and after. 🙂 …

  2. Hope your appointment went well. and don’t feel guilty about taking it easy as long as you need. It’s surprising how drained of energy you get by doing too much too soon. You’re allowed to pamper yourself. (hugs) ❤

    • It did go well! Most restrictions were lifted, and she said I’m “coming out of the woods.” It cheered me up, but, you are so right, I am so fatigued! Though it does seem I’m getting a little stronger each day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

