Thanks to June

“June is the time for being in the world in new ways, for throwing off the cold and dark spots of life.”

~Joan D. Chittisiter

~photo by Framed by Nature

Reflecting on the month of June, giving thanks for all it brings and leaves.

Thanks to June, I celebrate my daughter’s birth and indulge in nostalgia.

Thanks to June, I stop to honor the deaths of my dear mother, and my soul kitty, Max,

Thanks to Cancer

I unpack my box of grief and sit, but remember to place it back on its shelf safely.

Thanks to June, I am swept away in a whirlwind of emotions.

Tears and Joy, Ritual, and Celebration.

Litha brings the Summer Solstice, I dance with my sisters and welcome the light.

Though at night, I rest with the darkness, in the shadow.

June carries in on her shoulders and rewards us with the first days of Summer

Bringing an urgency, at (least it seems to in New England).

Still shaking off the cold and wet Spring, we frantically emerge.

A flurry of gatherings, and outdoor activities rush in,

as if in some sort of panic that the Light of Summer will fade too quickly,

we are in overdrive.

Or is it just me?

Reflecting on my Year Calendar,

I remember, that this happens every June.

I acknowledge that though our Summer does seem short,

the days are long and the night is light.

Once June, ends the Summer slows and we begin to soak up the healing.

Perhaps June is some transitionary bridge, some sort of test.

Thanks to June, we begin the Season’s journey, and at its end, we begin to understand.

Leave a comment